Adding to the collection

I heard back tonight from one of the magazines to which I submitted a story back in September. The answer was no, so I’m adding to my collection of rejections.

The email that I got was a form letter:

Thank you for your submission to [magazine]. I have given your work careful consideration and am unable to offer you publication. Best wishes with your writing.

That said, what I’m choosing to take away from this is that it came from an editor, so I seem to have made it past the first-reader stage. That’s a first for me, so I’m calling it a win. I may even celebrate.

This weekend, I’ll dust off the story, see if there’s anything I can improve, and then find somewhere new to send it.

Leave a Reply

