Finally…

I love the summertime.

I love the warm cross-breeze through my apartment when all the windows are open.

I love bare feet indoors and sandals outdoors.

I love not having to wear socks.

I love linen capri trousers and shoulders bare to the sun.

I love sunshine through dappled, leafy shade.

I love the sharp smell of rain on hot pavement.

I love the soft smell of growing things on the wind.

I love the freedom from layers and mittens and boots.

I love not having to brace myself to step outside.

I love the feeling of a summer breeze on sweat-damp skin.

I love sprawling across the bed in nothing but a bra and boxer shorts on a lazy afternoon.

I love walking down the beach with my feet in the water and the sun on my back.

I love the rumble of distant thunder and the rush of cool air ahead of a storm on a sweaty, sticky evening.

I love being able to sleep with the windows open.

After a long, brutal, exhausting winter, summer is finally on the way.

Leave a Reply

